Bibliophile World: May Book Challenge

For the month of May I’m participating the the bibliophile world photo challenge. The first post, simply a TBR. I have stubbled upon a few books whilst browsing my local library shelves. I Love Dick by Chris Kraus; Brooklyn Heights by Miral al-Tahawy; The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula le Guin; My Father’s Daughter by Hannah Pool; The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma; Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi.

The second is an anticipated read getting published this month. This is another concept that has been introduced to me through bookstagram: knowing months in advance when a book is going to be published and anticipating it’s release. I think this may be derived from young adult series fiction, when understandably readers await the next instalment in a trilogy, quartet, etc. It’s been a while since I was young enough to engage in this delicious type of anticipatory excitement; unfortunately I am awaiting no new releases, my TBR consists largely of books I ought to have read some time ago, having been published in most cases for many years.

The third photo, a bookish rainbow, was a light hearted joy to construct. I’m in the process of reorganising my books having recently moved house and it was fun to play amongst my bookshelves, although I was truck by how lacking in colour my book spines are, having faded from too long in the sun, or simply been bound in muted colours to begin with.

Fourth, a recommendation. Recently read, The Algebra of Infinite Justice by Arundhati Roy. Her work bringing to wider notice the realities of neo-liberalism is immensely important and more timely now than ever.

Finally for today’s post, a quick read, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, is a short yet fulsome novel told from an adolescent perspective, with wisdom and pathos.

I’m enjoying this little challenge and the way it has brought me to a more lively interaction with my reading, old and new, bought and borrowed. I’ll be updating my progress later in the month.

Leave a Reply

